Tuesday, March 25, 2014

Review: Evening Stars by Susan Mallery

Title: Evening Stars    
Author: Susan Mallery     
Series: Blackberry Island, #3      
Published: February 2014, Harlequin MIRA  
Format: ARC e-copy, 368 pages   
Source: Netgalley  

New York Times bestselling author Susan Mallery returns to Blackberry Island with the poignant tale of two sisters on the verge of claiming their dreams.

Small-town nurse Nina Wentworth has made a career out of being a caretaker. More "Mom" than their mother ever was, she sacrificed medical school—and her first love—so her sister could break free. Which is why she isn't exactly thrilled to see Averil back on Blackberry Island, especially when Nina's life has suddenly become…complicated.

Nina unexpectedly finds herself juggling two men—her high school sweetheart and a younger maverick pilot who also wants to claim her heart. But as fun as all this romance is, Nina has real life to deal with. Averil doesn't seem to want the great guy she's married to, and doesn't seem to be making headway writing her first book; their mom is living life just as recklessly as she always has; and Nina's starting to realize that the control she once had is slipping out of her fingers. Her hopes of getting off the island seem to be stretching further away…until her mother makes a discovery that could change everything forever.

But before Nina and Averil can reach for the stars, they have to decide what they want. Will Averil stay? Will Nina leave? And what about the men who claim to love them? Does love heal, or will finding their happy ending mean giving up all they've ever wanted?

My thoughts: This is the final book in Susan Mallery's Blackberry Island trilogy and I really enjoyed these books. I wasn't sure what to expect when the the first book came out, but I haven't found a book by Susan Mallery that I haven't liked and this series was enjoyable all around.

I liked that while there was romance involved in this book, it wasn't the main focus. The main theme, I thought, was about family and the dynamics of that family. Poor Nina was forced to grow up way too fast because her mother refused to act like an adult and so someone needed to take the role of decision-maker. And then there was little sister, Averil, who ended up a bit spoiled from a mother who just wanted to play all the time. 

Now that the sisters are grown up, they still find themselves in the same roles and desperately need to break the mold. They each have to figure out what their individual dreams are and how to fulfill them and still have a relationship with each other that is healthy and not based on the past.

I really enjoyed this trilogy and loved that we got a brief glimpse of Mischief Bay, the setting of Susan Mallery's upcoming new series! I wonder if Averil, who lives there with her husband, will be making appearances in this series?

Books in this series:
  1. Barefoot Season
  2. Three Sisters
  3. Evening Stars



  1. I have the series - now I need to make time to read it. I'm trying to get caught up in the Fool's Gold series first :) Glad to hear you liked all three.

  2. I have all 3 and will get to them this summer :)

  3. I'm glad you enjoyed this trilogy! It's wonderful to anticipate a new series based on an excerpt .

  4. Liked the first two very much, this one did not grab me as much, but still would not have missed out on reading it. I wonder about Averil too - surely so! I will be reading whatever comes next!


Thank you so much for leaving a comment! I love interacting with other book lovers and appreciate any thoughts or feedback! If you read a book after seeing my review, please let me know. Come back and leave me a link to your review so I can read it. Thank you!!!

Blogger Template Created by pipdig