Tuesday, June 10, 2014

Book Spotlight & Giveaway: The Bookman's Tale by Charlie Lovett (CLOSED)

Last year, I won a hardcopy of Charlie Lovett's debut novel, The Bookman's Tale. It has been sitting on my shelf just waiting to be read. Just recently, the book has been released in Paperback and the folks and Viking/Penguin have been kind enough to offer a giveaway of this book. 



“[A] delightful tale of love and bibliophilia.”Parade
 
Lovett tells his story with ease, charm and a faith in his characters.”USA Today
 
This novel has something for everyone: William Shakespeare, a love story, murder and even a secret tunnel.”Minneapolis Star-Tribune
 
The Bookman’s Tale has plenty of richness to offer. Lovett is deft at juggling plots and eras. —Atlanta Journal-Constituion
 
“. . . a treat.”—New York Journal of Books
 
Lovett’s tale sparkles with seasoned storytelling, and . . . is deftly handled by an author whose playwright roots and sense of scene showcase the skill to keep the reader turning pages.”—The Mountain Times
 


Charlie Lovett’s spellbinding New York Times-bestselling debut is guaranteed to capture the hearts of anyone who truly loves books. THE BOOKMAN’S TALE (Penguin; ISBN: 978-0-143-12538-9; On-sale: May 27, 2014; $16.00) combines the excitement of a centuries-old literary conspiracy with the touching love story of a shy bookseller.

In a dusty bookshop in Hay-on-Wye, Wales, Peter Byerly, a widowed American antiquarian bookseller, stumbles across a miniature portrait of his dead wife—but his wife died in 1994 and the portrait is clearly Victorian. When he tries to learn more about the watercolor, Peter is swept up in a web of mystery and intrigue and uncovers what could be the most important (and valuable) artifact in the history of English literature—a book that appears to have marginalia written by William Shakespeare positively proving the identity of the great playwright. But Peter is not the only person interested in the watercolor and the book. Framed for murder and with the killers on his trail, he is desperate to find out if the book is genuine or a forgery. Along the way, the reader is transported back to London in the late sixteenth century and the English countryside in the 1870s, finally discovering not only the truth about the lost book, but also about Peter’s own past and that of his beloved Amanda who died so young.

Fans of Diane Setterfield, A. S. Byatt, Carlos Ruiz Zaf√≥n, Joanne Harris—and anyone looking to embark on an exciting hunt for the “holy grail” of literary finds—will love THE BOOKMAN’S TALE.


About the Author:
CHARLIE LOVETT is a writer, teacher, and playwright whose plays for children have been seen in over 3000 productions worldwide. He served for more than a decade as Writer-in-Residence at Summit School in Winston-Salem, NC. He is a former antiquarian bookseller, and he has collected rare books and other materials related to Lewis Carroll for more than 25 years. He and his wife, Janice, split their time between Winston-Salem and Kingham, Oxfordshire.

 Visit the author on the web at www.charlielovett.com
 

THE BOOKMAN’S TALE
By Charlie Lovett
Penguin; $16.00
ISBN: 978-0-143-12538-9 
 On Sale May 27, 2014



GIVEAWAY DETAILS - CLOSED (US only)  
Thanks to the Annie at Viking/Penguin I have one paperback copy of The Bookman's Tale to give away to my readers. 



To enter…
  • Leave a comment below & be sure to include your email address.
  • Tweet, share on Facebook, or blog for 2 extra entries.
  • You MUST include email address or entry will be invalid.
  • I will contact winner at the conclusion of the giveaway & they will have 2 days to respond or I will pick a new winner.
This giveaway is open to US residents only and ends June 17th.


Good luck!

SHARE:

11 comments

  1. This novel sounds captivating and intriguing. Thanks for the great giveaway. saubleb(at)gmail(dot)com

    ReplyDelete
  2. I would enjoy this book this summer. Many thanks. elliotbencan(at)hotmail(dot)com

    ReplyDelete
  3. This sounds different! I would be interested to see how it plays out.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Thank you for hosting this giveaway. I'll post it in my blog's sidebar.

    suko95(at)gmail(dot)com

    ReplyDelete
  5. It's just a great storyline. I can't think of any booklover who wouldn't want a copy. I certainly do. Thanks for the chance to win one. carlscott(at)prodigy(dot)net(dot)mx
    +2 - I tweeted a link to this post: https://twitter.com/carlrscott/status/476522620523786240
    Thanks again

    ReplyDelete
  6. I have meaning to read this for a while! thanks for the giveaway, how could I resist a book about books!
    here is my tweet:
    https://twitter.com/wordsandpeace/status/476582926730014720
    Emma : ehc16e at yahoo dot com

    ReplyDelete
  7. I am intrigued! Thank you for the giveaway.

    mauback55 at gmail dot com

    ReplyDelete
  8. Interesting blurb

    bn100candg at hotmail dot com

    ReplyDelete
  9. I have not heard of this book and love bookstore themed books. I am adding it to myTBR!

    Thanks for the giveaway!
    ladybook21 at yahoo dot com

    ReplyDelete
  10. I have not heard of this book and love bookstore themed books. I am adding it to myTBR!

    Thanks for the giveaway!
    ladybook21 at yahoo dot com

    ReplyDelete
  11. It sounds like an interesting book. I'd love to win it!
    alto1jr @ hotmail dot com

    ReplyDelete

Thank you so much for leaving a comment! I love interacting with other book lovers and appreciate any thoughts or feedback! If you read a book after seeing my review, please let me know. Come back and leave me a link to your review so I can read it. Thank you!!!

Blogger Template Created by pipdig