Friday, December 16, 2016

#FRC2016 Book Spotlight: Small Admissions by Amy Poeppel



Title: Small Admissions
Author: Amy Poeppell
Published: December 2016, Atria/Emily Bestler Books
Format: Hardcover, 368 pages
 
For fans of The Nanny Diaries and Sophie Kinsella comes a whip-smart and deliciously funny debut novel about Kate, a young woman unexpectedly thrust into the cutthroat world of New York City private school admissions as she attempts to understand city life, human nature, and falling in love.

Despite her innate ambition and Summa Cum Laude smarts, Kate Pearson has turned into a major slacker. After being unceremoniously dumped by her handsome, French “almost fianc√©,” she abandons her grad school plans and instead spends her days lolling on the couch, watching reruns of Sex and the City, and leaving her apartment only when a dog-walking gig demands it. Her friends don’t know what to do other than pass tissues and hope for a comeback, while her practical sister, Angela, pushes every remedy she can think of, from trapeze class to therapy to job interviews.

Miraculously, and for reasons no one (least of all Kate) understands, she manages to land a job in the admissions department at the prestigious Hudson Day School. In her new position, Kate learns there’s no time for self-pity or nonsense during the height of the admissions season, or what her colleagues refer to as “the dark time.” As the process revs up, Kate meets smart kids who are unlikable, likeable kids who aren’t very smart, and Park Avenue parents who refuse to take no for an answer.

Meanwhile, Kate’s sister and her closest friends find themselves keeping secrets, hiding boyfriends, dropping bombshells, and fighting each other on how to keep Kate on her feet. On top of it all, her cranky, oddly charming, and irritatingly handsome downstairs neighbor is more than he seems. Through every dishy, page-turning twist, it seems that one person’s happiness leads to another’s misfortune, and suddenly everyone, including Kate, is looking for a way to turn rejection on its head, using any means necessary—including the truly unexpected.

What readers are saying:

"Poeppel gives an in-depth look at the admissions process, with a side of secrets, bombshells, heartbreak, and hope . . . perfect for fans of Curtis Sittenfeld's Prep." --Booklist

"A witty and captivating page-turner punctuated with quirky characters and laugh-out-loud moments that are sure to appeal." --Library Journal 

"An excellent debut." --Publishers Weekly 

“Small Admissions is quick-witted and razor-sharp. With a chorus of varied and absurd voices, you'll laugh at everyone involved while secretly fearing that you see yourself in the mix. Amy Poeppel manages to tell a story both poignant and hilarious, hinting that this wry and absorbing debut is the beginning of an exciting career.” --Taylor Jenkins Reid, Author of Maybe in Another Life

"Small Admissions is a hilarious romp through absurdities of Manhattan prep school life. It's characters are larger than life, it's point of view delightfully farcical. You'll read it in a snap and then wish for more." --Jennifer Miller the author of THE YEAR OF THE GADFLY

“Funny and incisive… Amy Poeppel's rollicking debut skewers the crazy world of Manhattan private schools, the extreme sport of contemporary parenting, and the ridiculous seriousness with which we embark on our adult lives. There's more here too: a thoughtful excavation of how we deal with rejections, big and small. I loved reading this book.” --Amy Shearn, author of The Mermaid of Brooklyn and How Far Is The Ocean From Here

“A rare book that actually makes you laugh out loud. Small Admissions offers a peek into the world of New York City private school admissions, but the deadly insights hardly stop there. Family, friendships,meetings(!)—Poeppel tells gleaming, hilarious truths about them all.” --Charity Shumway, author of Ten Girls to Watch

“This was quirky, funny and completely original. I loved it!” --Katie Fforde,author of A Vintage Wedding

"Charming, refreshing, and brilliantly funny, Amy Poeppel's novel is a delightful surprise." --Elizabeth Brundage, author of ALL THINGS CEASE TO APPEAR



***********************************************************************************


Small Admissions  by Amy Poeppel is one of  BookSparks "Fall Reads" reading selection picks.
 
Follow the #FRC2016 hashtag on twitter to read reviews on this book as well as reviews on the other fall books! Also, be sure to check out the BookSparks Facebook page for the #FRC2016 #Shelfie Grand Prize Giveaway and other fun links.

1 comment:

Thank you so much for leaving a comment! I love interacting with other book lovers and appreciate any thoughts or feedback! If you read a book after seeing my review, please let me know. Come back and leave me a link to your review so I can read it. Thank you!!!

 

Always With a Book Copyright © 2010 Designed by Ipietoon Blogger Template Sponsored by Online Shop Vector by Artshare