Saturday, October 14, 2017

Short & Sweet Review: The Lost Boy by Camilla Lackberg (audio)

Title: The Lost Boy
Author: Camilla Lackberg
Series: Patrik Hedstrom/Fjallbacka, #7
Narrator: Simon Vance
Published: October 2016, Blackstone Audio
Length: 12 hours 56 minutes
Source: Library

From internationally best-selling Swedish crime sensation Camilla Läckberg comes a new psychological thriller - irresistible for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbø. 

Mats Sverin was Fjällbacka's financial director on a regeneration project worth millions. When he's found dead, detective Patrik Hedström must find answers. 

It seems Mats was a man who everybody liked yet nobody really knew - a man with something to hide. Is it just a coincidence that his high school sweetheart, Nathalie, has returned to the area? Does she know who Mats really was? 

Nathalie has her own secret. Something has forced her and her five-year-old son to flee to their remote family home on the Ghost Isle, where she'll shield her son from the evils of the world.

But as the murder investigation draws a blank, the police have to dig deeper - and before long, everyone's lives will be dragged into the light.
***Short & Sweet Reviews are short, quick reviews. These will mainly be used for series books where I have already done full reviews on some of the earlier books or for books that I feel will suffice with a quick review. These will not be used for review requests or blog tours.

My thoughts: This is the 7th book in Camilla Lackberg's Fjallbacka/Patrik Hedstrom series and I just love this series. I was quite desperate to pick up this latest installment since the previous book ended with such a cliffhanger and I was not let down - this one picks up right where the last one left off, so everything is resolved and nothing is left hanging for too long. Thank goodness - I certainly didn't want to be left wondering for half the book!

I love getting caught up in the different mysteries and this one featured an island with a ghost story - a bit different and unique, but I did find myself completely wrapped up in it and wondering how it all tied in to the battered women's shelter and the new hotel. It's amazing the way these different threads all work their way together in the end! And once again there is the use of the past and present - I do love when Camilla is able to do that - it just seems to add a little extra to the story!

I continue to love the way Patrik handles his boss, Chief Melberg. It just cracks me up...he really has his number and just knows that if he doesn't give him just the right job, phrasing it just so, they will end up having a huge mess on their hands. It's quite comical, really! But, when it comes to his family life, Melberg really does step up - so I feel like I have this love/hate relationship with him. He's terrible at his job, but he's a giant teddy bear when it comes to his family.

There are so many good things about this series - each case is so intricately plotted and complex, and the character development continues to build with each installment. This is why I love reading series and why I try my best to read them in order whenever I can!
 

Audio thoughts: So it appears that just when I get used to Simon Vance as the narrator, this is the last book he narrates in this series...UGHHH!!!! How incredibly frustrating as a listener! Though I do have to say, I wasn't in love with Simon Vance narrating this series - I still wish the first narrator, David Thorn had continued on - now it appears that Robin Bowerman will be narrating the next 2 books, though they are not available on Audible (to US members at least) at this time. Hopefully they will be soon, as I would like to continue listening to this series...


Anyway, as far as this particular installment goes, Simon Vance did a good job. He was consistent with the voices from the previous book of those characters that continued on and his tone and pacing were good as well. 


 

Books in this series:  
  1. The Ice Princess
  2. The Preacher
  3. The Stonecutter
  4. The Stranger
  5. The Hidden Child
  6. The Drowning
  7. The Lost Boy
  8. Buried Angels
  9. The Ice Child


SHARE:

No comments

Post a Comment

Thank you so much for leaving a comment! I love interacting with other book lovers and appreciate any thoughts or feedback! If you read a book after seeing my review, please let me know. Come back and leave me a link to your review so I can read it. Thank you!!!

Blogger Template Created by pipdig