Wednesday, January 17, 2018

Review: Just Between Us by Rebecca Drake


Title: Just Between Us
Author: Rebecca Drake
Published: January 2018, St. Martin's Griffin
Format: Paperback, 384 pages
Source: Publisher

Summary: 
Four suburban mothers and friends conspire to cover up a deadly crime in this heart-stopping novel of suspense in the tradition of Lisa Scottoline and Lisa Unger.

Alison, Julie, Sarah, Heather. Four friends living the suburban ideal. Their jobs are steady, their kids are healthy. They’re as beautiful as their houses. But each of them has a dirty little secret, and hidden behind the veneer of their perfect lives is a crime and a mystery that will consume them all.

Everything starts to unravel when Alison spots a nasty bruise on Heather’s wrist. She shares her suspicions with Julie and Sarah, compelling all three to investigate what looks like an increasingly violent marriage. As mysterious injuries and erratic behavior mount, Heather can no longer deny the abuse, but she refuses to leave her husband. Desperate to save her, Alison and the others dread the phone call telling them that she’s been killed. But when that call finally comes, it’s not Heather who’s dead. In a moment they’ll come to regret, the women must decide what lengths they’ll go to in order to help a friend.

Just Between Us is a thrilling glimpse into the underbelly of suburbia, where not all neighbors can be trusted, and even the closest friends keep dangerous secrets. You never really know what goes on in another person’s mind, or in their marriage.




My thoughts: This is the first book I've read by Rebecca Drake and it definitely won't be the last. This twisty domestic thriller kept me on my toes the entire time...it was engaging and once I started it, I had a hard time putting it down.

This is a tale about four women who have become friends because of their children. It is told from the perspectives of each of the women - and while this is a little confusing at the beginning, trying to keep each of them separate, it eventually becomes clear who is doing the narrating at different points. What I did find intriguing, though, is that as we are getting to know each of the women, it that there are hints at an underlying darkness in each of the women's past...this is what kept me reading long after my bedtime! I needed to know what it was they were hiding.

Two questions kept circling my mind as I read this - Just how far would you go for your friends? and How well do you really know your friends? As the story progresses and we start to uncover those secrets, I became more and more addicted to the story. I loved that along the way, there were these little "bombs" dropped - just little pieces of the puzzle that were revealed when you least expected them to be. This kept me guessing as to what was really going on - my brain was going into overdrive each time something new popped up.

The suspense builds slowly and the pace moves along at a good clip. The twists and turns really keep everything on edge - though I will say I did figure out one part before it was revealed. But this in no way detracted from my enjoyment of the book...I think it only heightened my thinking while I was reading. And I think the best part of this book is that it definitely didn't go where I thought it would. I thought I had it all figured out, but between the twists and turns and the secrets - it really keeps you guessing.


 
SHARE:

1 comment

  1. I've read another good review of this book and look forward to reading it. I like this type of 'domestic' thriller. Glad it worked well for you.

    ReplyDelete

Thank you so much for leaving a comment! I love interacting with other book lovers and appreciate any thoughts or feedback! If you read a book after seeing my review, please let me know. Come back and leave me a link to your review so I can read it. Thank you!!!

Blogger Template Created by pipdig