Monday, November 25, 2019

Review: A Girl Named Anna by Lizzy Barber


Title: A Girl Named Anna
Author: Lizzy Barber
Published: September 2019, Mira Books
Format: ARC Paperback, 329 pages
Source: Publisher

Summary: 
A compulsive suspense debut for fans of Megan Miranda, Wendy Walker and Kimberly Belle, about two teens--one sheltered by her strict and reclusive mamma, one living in the shadow of the missing sister who was snatched from a theme park as a toddler--and their search for the truth about their families and each other.

If your whole life is a lie, who can you trust?

Raised in a quiet rural community, Anna has always been taught that her Mamma's rules are the only path to follow. But, on her eighteenth birthday, she defies her Mamma for the first time in her life, and goes to Astroland. She’s never been allowed to visit Florida’s biggest theme park, so why, when she arrives, does everything about it seem so familiar? And is there a connection to the mysterious letter she receives that same day—a letter addressing her by a different name?

Rosie has grown up in the shadow of the missing sister she barely remembers, her family fractured by years of searching without leads. Now, on the fifteenth anniversary of her sister’s disappearance, the media circus resumes as the funds dedicated to the search dry up, and Rosie vows to uncover the truth herself. But can she find the answer before it tears her family apart?

Winner of the Daily Mail First Novel Competition, A Girl Named Anna is a psychologically riveting read that introduces Lizzy Barber as an outstanding new voice in suspense fiction.



My thoughts: I am always surprised when I come across a debut novel that reads like anything but a debut and that is exactly what we have here. And even more exciting is that it is part psychological suspense and part family drama, which really keeps you engaged. 

I loved the way this story is told, alternating between the two points of view. There are many themes running through this book and while I had some inkling as to where it was heading, I was still surprised as to how it all turned out. I will say that this is definitely a slow-burning type of read that picks up speed as the book moves forward.

I enjoyed getting to know each girl as the book takes its time setting things up. As it involves a missing child, it does get a bit emotional at times, and I think it plays that angle quite well. It's quite a powerful read and will have you wondering how you would deal with that on each side. We see the aftermath of the abduction as the story is picked up fifteen years after the incident.

I am always on the hunt for new authors to read and have definitely added a new one to my list...Lizzy Barber has proven to be an author to keep an eye on for sure and I cannot wait to see what she has in store for us next!


SHARE:

3 comments

  1. This sounds very good. I am putting it on my list.

    ReplyDelete
  2. This really sounds riveting! I will do the same thing as Mystica.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Adding this one to my list. Sounds riveting!

    ReplyDelete

Thank you so much for leaving a comment! I love interacting with other book lovers and appreciate any thoughts or feedback! If you read a book after seeing my review, please let me know. Come back and leave me a link to your review so I can read it. Thank you!!!

Blogger Template Created by pipdig