Wednesday, October 07, 2020

Review: Three Perfect Liars by Heidi Perks


 
Title: Three Perfect Liars
Author: Heidi Perks
Published: June 2020, Gallery Books
Format: ARC E-copy, 336 pages
Source: Netgalley

Summary: 
From the author of Her One Mistake , hailed as chilling, captivating” by New York Times bestselling author Megan Miranda, comes a riveting new suspense novel about three ambitious women whose lives are turned upside down in the aftermath of a horrifying fire, which destroys a successful advertising agency and threatens to expose a tangled web of lies.

Laura has returned to work at Morris and Wood after her maternity leave, only to discover that the woman she brought in to cover for her isn’t planning on going anywhere. Despite her close relationship with the agency’s powerful CEO, Harry Wood, she feels sidelined—and outmaneuvered—as she struggles to balance the twin demands of work and motherhood.

Mia was only supposed to be a temporary hire at Morris and Wood, but she’s managed to make herself indispensable to everyone. Everyone, that is, except Laura. If people only knew why she was so desperate to keep her job, they might not want her to stay.

Janie gave up everything to support her husband and the successful agency he runs. But she has her own dark secret to protect…and will go to any lengths to keep it safe.

With signature prose lauded as “breathtaking” and “bone-chilling” by USA TODAY bestselling author Cristina Alger and plenty of shocking twists and turns, Three Perfect Liars is an unputdownable thriller for fans of Watching You and The Couple Next Door.



My thoughts: This is the first book I've read by Heidi Perks and it definitely will not be the last. This character-driven story kept me glued to the pages right from the start and never let up. 

There is nothing I love more than a good psychological thriller where nothing is as it seems. I absolutely loved the format of this book, told from multiple points of view of the three woman, moving back and forth in time from just after the fire to the weeks leading up to the fire, and we also get snippets of police interviews thrown in here and there. I found this just upped the suspense as we slowly get to know the three women in question, allowing us to see what their motivations might have been for causing the fire.

This book really kept me on my toes. Being that it's a character-driven story, I found the pace to be just right. I was eager to learn what these women were hiding, and how it all came to together in the end. This isn't a book with a huge twist, but rather little surprises here and there that are equally satisfying. I really enjoyed this book and will certainly be checking out this author's other books very soon!


SHARE:

No comments

Post a Comment

Thank you so much for leaving a comment! I love interacting with other book lovers and appreciate any thoughts or feedback! If you read a book after seeing my review, please let me know. Come back and leave me a link to your review so I can read it. Thank you!!!

Blogger Template Created by pipdig