Saturday, October 20, 2012

Review: Promise Canyon by Robyn Carr (e-book)

Promise Canyon by Robyn Carr
Mira Books
January 2011
Format: e-book, 342 pages

First line: Clay Tahoma headed into the mountains of Humboldt County, Northern California, along Highway 36, a narrow road that had lots of sharp turns along the way.

Synopsis from B&N: After years spent on ranches around Los Angeles, Clay Tahoma is delighted to be Virgin River's new veterinary assistant. The secluded community's wild beauty tugs at his Navajo roots, and he's been welcomed with open arms by everyone in town—everyone except Lilly Yazhi.

Lilly has encountered her share of strong, silent, traditional men within her own aboriginal community, and she's not interested in coming back for more. In her eyes, Clay's earthy, sexy appeal is just an act used to charm wealthy women like his ex-wife. She can't deny his gift for gentling horses, but she's not about to let him control her. There's just one small problem—she can't control her attraction to Clay.

But in Virgin River, faith in new beginnings and the power of love has doors opening everywhere.…

My thoughts:  This is the 13th book in Robyn Carr's Virgin River series and as I've said before, I love this series. I love how in each installment, we get to know some new characters, but we also get some updates on the ones we've come to love from previous books. Each time I think I have found a favorite character, Robyn Carr creates someone else that I like even more.

Promise Canyon is mainly Clay and Lilly's story. Clay is a vet tech originally from Flagstaff and the Navaho Nation. Lilly works at her grandfather's feed store and is a Hopi who is trying to forget her traditional native background. Clay has just relocated to the area to work at Nate Jensen's farm (whom we met in book 8), the same farm that Lilly delivers feed to. When these two meet, sparks fly and I have to say their romance is one of the most intense in the whole series so far. Of course, theirs isn't an easy road to happily-ever-after, and there are a few bumps along the way that almost mean the end of them. Both have personal insecurities and past relationships that need to be dealt with in order to move forward.
There are two other significant story lines in Promise Canyon. One is a fun and touching side story that involves Jack, Hope and the entire town of Virgin River coming to odds with each other's wishes, (and some really good laugh out loud moments!).  The other involves one of the Riordan brothers who is in a helicopter accident with severe consequences. Between this story, which we are really only given a teaser to, and a few brand-new characters that we briefly meet, I am guessing these will be the basis of some future books in this series...books I am looking forward to reading. 

What about you? Do you like when authors give a hint as to what is coming up next in the series or would you rather be completely surprised?

(I purchased this e-book.)

Books in this series:
  1. Virgin River                                   11.1   Sheltering Hearts
  2. Shelter Mountain                         12.  Midnight Confessions
  3. Whispering Rock                          13.  Promise Canyon
  4. A Virgin River Christmas          14.  Wild Man Creek
  5. Second Chance Pass                    15.  Harvest Moon
  6. Temptation Ridge                        16.  Bring Me Home for Christmas
  7. Paradise Valley                             17.  Hidden Summit      
  8. Under the Christmas Tree        18.  Redwood Bend
  9. Forbidden Falls                            19.  Sunrise Point
  10. Angel's Peak                                   20.  My Kind of Christmas 
  11. Moonlight Road 

No comments

Post a Comment

Thank you so much for leaving a comment! I love interacting with other book lovers and appreciate any thoughts or feedback! If you read a book after seeing my review, please let me know. Come back and leave me a link to your review so I can read it. Thank you!!!

Blogger Template Created by pipdig