Tuesday, September 20, 2016

Book Spotlight: The Confectioner's Tale by Laura Madeleine

Today Laura Madeleine's debut novel, The Confectioner's Tale, comes out!!! I'm really excited about this book - plus isn't the cover just so stunning? I'll be reviewing this book in the coming weeks, but for now, please enjoy this spotlight on the book and do let me know if you plan on reading it :)

Title: The Confectioner's Tale
Author: Laura Madeleine
Published: September 2016, Thomas Dunne Books
Format: Hardcover, 336 pages
 
What secrets are hiding in the heart of Paris?

At the famous Patisserie Clermont in Paris, 1909, a chance encounter with the owner's daughter has given one young man a glimpse into a life he never knew existed: of sweet cream and melted chocolate, golden caramel and powdered sugar, of pastry light as air.

But it is not just the art of confectionery that holds him captive, and soon a forbidden love affair begins.

Almost eighty years later, an academic discovers a hidden photograph of her grandfather as a young man with two people she has never seen before. Scrawled on the back of the picture are the words 'Forgive me'. Unable to resist the mystery behind it, she begins to unravel the story of two star-crossed lovers and one irrevocable betrayal.

Take a moment to savour an evocative, bittersweet love story that echoes through the decades – perfect for fans of Kate Morton, Rachel Hore and Victoria Hislop.

Praise for The Confectioner's Tale

“Delightful, delicious and so typically French sweet and salty: this debut is a must read for every reading gourmet and for any Paris-Lover. Tasteful, joyful, Parisian – je l’aime.”―Nina George, New York Times bestselling author of The Little Paris Bookshop

“In her fast-paced, deliciously addictive debut novel, Laura Madeleine throws the reader directly into 1910 Paris. You can feel the grittiness of Montmartre, see the Left Bank streets, and smell the sugar in the patisseries. Featuring romance, family secrets, and a well-executed dual narrative, The Confectioner’s Tale is as transportive a book as you can read.” ―Michelle Gable, New York Times bestselling author of A Paris Apartment and I'll See You in Paris


"A great tale of mystery, artistry, history, and a little romance."―Library Journal

"Madeleine skillfully weaves both narratives together, contrasting the sights, smells, and sounds of belle epoque Paris with modern London. Madeleine's extensive research is evident, giving the passionate and thrilling story a solid base in reality. Fans of Alex Rosenberg and Naomi Wood will enjoy this glimpse inside the decadent and sensual world of 1910s Paris." --Booklist

“Mouth-watering and mysterious... a compelling read.” ―Leah Fleming, bestselling author of The Postcard

************************************************************************************

About the author:
After a childhood spent acting professionally and training at a theatre school, Laura Madeleine changed her mind, and went to study English Literature at Newnham College, Cambridge. She now writes fiction, as well as recipes, and was formerly the resident cake baker for Domestic Sluttery. She lives in Bristol, but can often be found visiting her family in Devon, eating cheese and getting up to mischief with her sister, fantasy author Lucy Hounsom.


Author Links:
Website | Twitter




SHARE:

3 comments

  1. The cover is very lovely, Kristin. It sounds like you will enjoy reading this book a great deal!

    ReplyDelete
  2. The Cover alone is enough to attract a reader.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Seeing this book in quite a few blogs at the moment, I think I'd like to read it, and will check to see if our library has it when I can squeeze it in. Cover is divine alright.

    ReplyDelete

Thank you so much for leaving a comment! I love interacting with other book lovers and appreciate any thoughts or feedback! If you read a book after seeing my review, please let me know. Come back and leave me a link to your review so I can read it. Thank you!!!

Blogger Template Created by pipdig