Friday, July 28, 2017

#SRC2017 Book Review: The Captain's Daughter by Meg Mitchell Moore (audio)



Title: The Captain's Daughter
Author: Meg Mitchell Moore
Narrator: Coleen Marlo
Published: July 2017, Random House Audio / Doubleday Books
Length: 11 hours 11 minutes / 304 pages
Source: Audio - Personal copy via Audible / Print - ARC Paperback via Publisher

For fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Emma Straub comes an emotionally gripping novel about a woman who returns to her hometown in coastal Maine and finds herself pondering the age-old question of what could have been.

Growing up in Little Harbor, Maine, the daughter of a widowed lobsterman, Eliza Barnes could haul a trap and row a skiff with the best of them. But she always knew she'd leave that life behind. Now that she's married, with two kids and a cushy front-row seat to suburban country club gossip in an affluent Massachusetts town, she feels adrift.

When her father injures himself in a boating accident, Eliza pushes the pause button on her own life to come to his aid. But when she arrives in Maine, she discovers her father's situation is more dire than he let on. Eliza's homecoming is further complicated by the reemergence of her first love--and memories of their shared secret. Then Eliza meets Mary Brown, a seventeen-year-old local who is at her own crossroad, and Eliza can't help but wonder what her life would have been like if she'd stayed.

Filled with humor, insight, summer cocktails, and gorgeous sunsets, The Captain's Daughter is a compassionate novel about the life-changing choices we make and the consequences we face in their aftermath.

My thoughts: This is the second book I've read by Meg Mitchell Moore and it's the second book I've enjoyed by her. She has such a way with words and storytelling - being able to draw you in and keep you engaged and invested in the world she creates.

I loved that the characters are so real and relatable! You may not always like them or agree with their choices or actions, but they are true to their characters and that makes them good, flawed, realistic characters. Eliza has been living in an affluent Massachusetts town with her family, which is quite the opposite of the small coastal town in Maine that she grew up in. When she needs to head back to Maine after her dad has been injured, she finds that going home isn't always as easy as one thinks.

This book is filled with subtle themes that sort of sneak up on you. It's not a heavy book by any means, but rather one that is balanced with humor and messages meant to think about. It delves into relationships between parent and child, motherhood, marriage, grief, and the idea of being true to yourself. And the settings - that of both the Massachusetts town and the Maine coastal town are ideal for this story! I loved both and found that both were just right for the messages that Meg Mitchell Moore was trying to send. 

This was such a good story, with memorable characters, and insightful messages. It's definitely a great summer read!


Audio thoughts:
I have listened to Coleen Marlo before, so I knew I would enjoy this book and I was right. She did a great job with this audio production, giving each character their own unique voice and using just the right amount of emotion when needed. Her pacing and tone were spot on and this really was a great book to listen to.


*********************************************************************************



The Captain's Daughter  by Meg Mitchell Moore is one of  BookSparks "Summer Reads" reading selection picks. 
  
 Follow the #SRC2017 hashtag on twitter to read reviews on this book as well as reviews on the other summer books! Also, be sure to check out the BookSparks Facebook page for the #SRC2017  and other fun links. You can participate in weekly secret missions for chances to win signed copies of selected books and more! There's a new secret mission each week :)
 
 

2 comments:

  1. I really liked The Admissions, so am anxious to see what I think of this one.

    ReplyDelete
  2. New one for me. Thanks for thed review.

    ReplyDelete

Thank you so much for leaving a comment! I love interacting with other book lovers and appreciate any thoughts or feedback! If you read a book after seeing my review, please let me know. Come back and leave me a link to your review so I can read it. Thank you!!!

 

Always With a Book Copyright © 2010 Designed by Ipietoon Blogger Template Sponsored by Online Shop Vector by Artshare