Thursday, January 04, 2018

Review: The Stolen Angel by Sara Blaedel

Title: The Stolen Angel
Author: Sara Blaedel
Series: Louise Rick, #6 / The Camilla Trilogy, #3
Published: January 2018, Grand Central Publishing
Format: ARC Paperback, 368 pages
Source: Publisher

#1 internationally bestselling author Sara Blaedel returns with a captivating new suspense novel: Detective Louise Rick encounters her most troubling case yet as she goes up against an extremely wealthy-but psychologically twisted-sociopath targeting vulnerable young women.


When the granddaughter of the wealthy Sachs-Smith family is kidnapped, Louise's skills as a trained negotiator are put to work. She is tasked with helping the desperate mother negotiate what soon turns into a life-or-death situation. The kidnappers will only exchange the deathly ill little girl for an infamous stained glass panel--known as the Angel of Death--that has been in the family for generations. But there's a problem... the Angel, worth millions, was recently stolen from the family home

Racing against the clock as she matches wits with a criminal mastermind, Louise will be taken to the depths of human depravity. She's about to learn the hard way that money can buy absolutely anything. But will she be able to find the little girl before her time runs out?

Sara Blaedel's latest suspenseful and emotionally powerful thriller will keep you breathless until the final shocking twist.


My thoughts: This is the final book of Sara Blaedel's newest trilogy that is really part of her Louise Rick series - and was re-released earlier this week - and let me tell you...this book is crazy good!!! If you're scratching your head about where this book fits in in this series - and why it's listed above as part of two different series - I have a brief explanation below and also a little more in-depth one in my review of the first book of this trilogy, The Night Women, which I reviewed earlier this week and you can find here

If you've never read Sara Blaedel before - you can either start with this latest trilogy or you can start with The Missing Persons Trilogy, which is what most of us here in the states probably did as these were the first to be translated into English. All I recommend is that you read each of the trilogies in order, especially The Camilla Trilogy as the character development really takes threads from one book to the next, as you would expect in a series. 

This book really takes you on quite a ride. It's dark and twisted, and I was floored when I realized just who the crazy sociopath was behind the evil acts...I never saw that coming! This case really has Louise working on all cylinders - and what's even more impressive is that this is the start of her work in the 'negotiation unit'...if you've read the subsequent books, you know what I'm talking about! If aren't missing anything just yet! 

I have to say that one of my favorite aspects of this series is the character development we get. It's top-notch and there is so much of it happening in this book. Of course, there are threads that have been carried through from the previous two books of this trilogy (again why I recommend reading this trilogy in order!), but even little things are carefully plotted...nothing put in this book is here without it's use. Everything has it's purpose. 

This is an addicting, thrilling read. I was glued to the pages, wondering just what was going to happen next and if Louise and her team were going to figure it all out before it was too late. The mix of police procedural and compelling characters really makes this book (and series!) one you don't want to miss.

I have loved reading these three books and am hoping very much to get time to read the earlier books soon. I have books 2 and 3 in English - I picked them up on my trip to London last year. I don't know if Grand Central Publishing has plans to re-release them any time soon, but I don't know that I can wait...and I have yet to see an English translation for book 1 that might have to wait. I'm usually not one for reading a series backwards in chunks like I did with this one, but I will say, this is definitely one of my favorite series and one that at some point, I would love to re-read straight through in the correct order!

A Note on this series:
***This series was first published in Denmark. Grand Central Publishing has started publishing some of the later books here in the US, which have been grouped in 2 trilogies 'The Missing Persons Trilogy' and 'The Camilla Trilogy.'

The Missing Persons Trilogy (Available in US now):
  1. The Forgotten Girls
  2. The Killing Forest 
  3. The Lost Woman
The Camilla Trilogy (Available in the US now - as of 1.2.18):
  1. The Night Women
  2. The Running Girl
  3. The Stolen Angel

Louise Rick Series (as Sara Blaedel published it):

  1. Green Dust (???)
  2. Call Me Princess/ Blue Blood
  3. Only One Life
  4. The Night Women (formerly published as Farewell to Freedom)
  5. The Running Girl
  6. The Stolen Angel
  7. The Forgotten Girls
  8. The Killing Forest 
  9. The Lost Woman    
*** For the title with ???, I used a translator website to translate Danish title. Not sure if this is the actual English title but at least it's a place-holder for now.  And you'll notice book 2 has two titles - I actually have both books, both in English!

No comments

Post a Comment

Thank you so much for leaving a comment! I love interacting with other book lovers and appreciate any thoughts or feedback! If you read a book after seeing my review, please let me know. Come back and leave me a link to your review so I can read it. Thank you!!!

Blogger Template Created by pipdig