Tuesday, September 24, 2019

Book Spotlight & Giveaway: The Light Over London by Julia Kelly

Earlier this year, I read The Light Over London by Julia Kelly when it was first released in hardcover, and I really enjoyed it! You can read my thoughts on the book here

Today the book is being released in paperback and to celebrate, I am helping the publishers get the word out. I also have 1 copy of the book to giveaway - be sure to read all the way to the bottom of the post for details!


Title: The Light Over London
Author: Julia Kelly
Published: September 2019, Gallery Books
Format: Paperback, 336 pages


Summary: 
Told from the present-day perspective of a British antiques dealer who specializes in helping families sell the contents of estates, the acclaimed author of the Governess series transports us to World War II London through forgotten treasures in this entrancing, heartbreaking novel, reminiscent of Martha Hall Kelly's Lilac Girls.

For Cara Hargraves, burying herself in the past is easier than confronting the present, which is why working with a gruff but brilliant antiques dealer is the perfect salvation. While clearing out an estate, she pries open an old tin that holds the relics of a lost relationship; among the treasures, a World War II-era diary and a photograph of a young woman in uniform--the same one Cara's grandmother wore during the war. Eager to find the author of the hauntingly beautiful, unfinished diary, Cara embarks on a journey to untangle the affair, and just maybe uncover her grandmother's deeply guarded secrets, too.

In 1941, nineteen-year-old Louise Keene's life had been decided for her--she'll wait at home in her Cornish village until the wealthy son of her mother's best friend returns from war to ask for her hand. But when Louise unexpectedly meets Flight Lieutenant Paul Bolton, a dashing RAF pilot stationed at a local base, everything changes. But their whirlwind romance is cut short when Paul's unit is deployed.

Desperate for a larger life, Louise defies her parents and joins the women's branch of the British Army in the anti-aircraft gun unit. As bombs fall on London, she relishes in her growing friendships with the gunner girls and knowing she and Paul will be together when the war is over. But when a bundle of her letters to Paul are returned unanswered, she learns that wartime romance can have a much darker side.

Perfect for fans of The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah, these remarkable women reveal the power within, no matter the generation, as they search for love, freedom, and the truth.



What readers are saying: 

"Sweeping, stirring, and heartrending in all the best ways, this tale of one of WWII's courageous, colorful, and enigmatic Gunner Girls will take your breath away." Author: ―Kristin Harmel, International bestselling author of The Room on Rue Amelie and The Sweetness of Forgetting

“Deftly weaving together past and present, Kelly tells a fresh, heartfelt story of sisterhood and sacrifice, culminating in a gut-punch finish. Perfect for fans of The Alice Network.” –Michelle Gable, New York Times bestselling author of A Paris Apartment

"The Light over London is a poignant reminder that there is no limit to what women can do. A nostalgic, engrossing read."
Julia London, New York Times bestselling author of Seduced by a Scot

"Kelly weaves an intricate, tender, and convincing tale of war and romance with skill and suspense." 
Publishers Weekly

“Kelly deftly balances intrigue with mystery and historical detail in her latest novel… A charming imagining of the historical gunner girls.” –Kirkus Reviews

“Kelly has crafted two convincing, conflicted heroines in Cara and Louise, and the resolution of Louise’s romance is satisfyingly empowering. Hand this to fans of Jennifer Egan’s Manhattan Beach (2017) and other tales of the vital roles played by women in wartime.”
Booklist

"Readers who adore a richly detailed period piece will be immediately drawn in by the world of The Light Over London. Julia Kelly has delivered her most elegant effort yet: a deeply rewarding and moving novel."
Apple Best of the Month

“A sweeping and beautifully written novel… an epic saga of love and friendship.”
Women's World

"Historical fiction fans won't be able to wait to get their hands on Julia Kelly's The Light Over London....fans should bookmark [it.]"
Popsugar

"Kelly doesn’t disappoint us–and readers will be engrossed in Louise’s story of love and war juxtaposed with Cara’s present discoveries...We root for both Louise and Cara, understanding their fears, hopes and chances."
BookTrib  


*****************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Giveaway Details -- (US Only) 
Thanks to the publicist, one reader will win a copy of  The Light Over London by Julia London. To enter the giveaway, please fill out the rafflecopter by September 30th.
 


  a Rafflecopter giveaway

This giveaway is open to US residents only and ends September 30th.

Good Luck!!! 
   
SHARE:

4 comments

  1. Thank you for this captivating and fascinating historical. My favorite novels are historicals from this era. A novel which I am looking forward to enjoying is The Last Train to London by Meg Waite Clayton.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Kristin,
    Thanks very much for hosting this terrific giveaway. I will add it to my blog's sidebar. :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. I love historical books. Look forward to reading this one.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I haven't looked for any historical fiction this fall, but I do enjoy reading it.

    ReplyDelete

Thank you so much for leaving a comment! I love interacting with other book lovers and appreciate any thoughts or feedback! If you read a book after seeing my review, please let me know. Come back and leave me a link to your review so I can read it. Thank you!!!

Blogger Template Created by pipdig