Wednesday, February 24, 2021

Review: Hadley & Grace by Suzanne Redfearn (audio)

 

Title: Hadley & Grace
Author: Suzanne Redfearn
Narrator: Christina Traister, Sarah Naughton, Pete Simonelli
Published: February 2021, Brilliance Audio / Lake Union Publishing
Length: 10 hours 7 minutes / 347 pages
Source: Audio via Brilliance Publishing / Print via Amazon Publishing

Summary:
The author of In an Instant delivers a heart-pounding and emotional roller-coaster ride of self-discovery in the tradition of Thelma and Louise.

Needing to escape her abusive marriage, Hadley flees with her two kids, knowing it might be her only chance. A woman who can’t even kill a spider, Hadley soon finds herself pushed to the limits as she fights to protect her family.

Grace, new mother of baby Miles, desperately wants to put her rough past behind her for good, but she finds it impossible when her path crosses with Hadley’s, and her quest for a new start quickly spirals out of control and turns into a terrifying flight for survival.

Stronger together than apart, the two find their fates inextricably entwined, and as the danger closes in, each must decide how much she is willing to risk for the other.

A powerful story of self-discovery, Hadley and Grace is the heart-racing tale of two women facing insurmountable odds, racing to stay one step ahead of the trouble that is chasing them, and discovering new kinds of love and family along the way.


 

My thoughts:  Suzanne Redfearn has become an author that I know I can count on and even though I have never seen the movie, Thelma and Louise, I knew I would enjoy this latest book from her and I absolutely did. And it's make me want to see the movie, so I guess that's a good thing!

Right away I was pulled into this book. Not really knowing what to expect because I haven't seen the movie, I found myself completely falling in love with these two women who become unlikely partners as they try to get out of their own bad situations. I became so engaged in this story that I really had a hard time putting it down and found myself laughing and even tearing up a few times. This book really has it all - adventure, suspense, a little romance and of course a dose of solid feel-good that really hits you when all is said and done. 

I cannot recommend this one enough...it's the perfect escape read for these long winter days. And if you haven't read Suzanne's other books, I highly recommend those as well!


Audio thoughts: This was such a great book to listen to and the narrators really did a great job making the book come to life. I liked that there were three different narrators and all did well with pacing and intonations and infusing just the right amount of emotion and tension in their voices as needed. I really enjoyed this book and think it translated well onto audio.


SHARE:

No comments

Post a Comment

Thank you so much for leaving a comment! I love interacting with other book lovers and appreciate any thoughts or feedback! If you read a book after seeing my review, please let me know. Come back and leave me a link to your review so I can read it. Thank you!!!

Blogger Template Created by pipdig