Friday, February 05, 2021

Review: Silent Voices by Patricia Gibney

 Title: Silent Voices
Author: Patricia Gibney
Series: DI Lottie Parker, #9
Published: February 2021, Bookouture
Format: ARC E-copy, 451 pages
Source: Netgalley via Publisher

The hall was empty and dark. She felt for the switch on the wall, but another noise caused her to pause. Was it from upstairs? That’s when she heard the whoosh of sound. The flutter of material. Right before she felt the push between her shoulder blades.

When twenty-five-year-old Rachel Mullen is discovered murdered in her own bed by her devastated twin sister, the morning after a glittering party, it’s a chilling new case for Detective Lottie Parker. Rachel’s freckled face is bruised and broken, a shard of glass placed in her throat… Faced with such a horrifying murder, Lottie wastes no time in pursuing every clue.

Many of Ragmullin’s most important people were at the party, and Lottie risks angering her boss if she doesn’t tread carefully. Then a brilliant young doctor is found murdered with glass in her throat. The doctor was nowhere near the party and a devastated Lottie is forced to question everything. Two beautiful young women with the world at their feet have been brutally silenced. Why did the killer need them to die?

Desperate to find proof of what really happened to Rachel that night, Lottie’s search brings her to a vulnerable teenage girl, Maddy, who was waitressing at the party. But just as Lottie is close to uncovering a key piece of evidence, Maddy is seen disappearing into an unmarked car. Will Lottie be able to find the frightened fifteen-year-old or will she too be silenced forever?

My thoughts:  This is the 9th book in Patricia Gibney's Detective Lottie Parker series and this series is just so darn good! Yes, it's dark and not for everyone, but I do love my crime fiction and this detective series is one of my favorites!

I love how we are thrown right into things with these books and this latest one might be the most complicated one yet. And all this is going on just days before Lottie and Boyd's wedding - a time that is normally a little stressful but when you add in a case full of dead-ends and more questions than answers, the stress just keeps piling up.  

I think my favorite part of this series is that while the case is going on, we have such great character development. And on top of that, in a series that is 9 books in, there is still a sense of uniqueness to this series. I don't feel that I am reading the same book over and over and I so appreciate that. 

These books are action-packed and keep you on your toes. You are never quite sure where things are headed, and as always, we have sections that are told from the killer's point of view, but we aren't give clues as to who it might be. We are also given flashbacks to the past and boy does this give us insight into the murderer's head.

I can't recommend this series enough and I am looking forward to seeing what comes next. I truly believe that this is a series that just gets better with each new book!


Books in this series:  

  1. The Missing Ones
  2. The Stolen Girls
  3. The Lost Child
  4. No Safe Place 
  5. Tell Nobody 
  6. Final Betrayal 
  7. Broken Souls
  8. Buried Angels 
  9. Silent Voices




  1. Sounds very good and I've missed it as its just been archived!

  2. It’s great that you are still enjoying the series, thanks for sharing your thoughts


Thank you so much for leaving a comment! I love interacting with other book lovers and appreciate any thoughts or feedback! If you read a book after seeing my review, please let me know. Come back and leave me a link to your review so I can read it. Thank you!!!

Blogger Template Created by pipdig